Loading...
Webinars & Events 2018-06-13T13:28:55+00:00

Episcopal Migration Ministries and the Office of Government Relations is hosting a one-hour free webinar, Our 1939 Moment: Continuing the Legacy of Welcome, on Monday, June 18 at 4 pm Eastern (3 pm Central/2 pm Mountain/1 pm Pacific/noon Alaska/11 am Hawaii).

Presented as part of the World Refugee Day observance on June 20, the webinar will be a conversation about the history and present of the Episcopal Church’s legacy of refugee welcome.

“Our present moment is not so unlike our past,” noted Episcopal Migration Ministries’ Allison Duvall, Manager for Church Relations and Engagement. “In the 1930’s and 1940’s, the Church was galvanized to stand for refugees fleeing Nazi atrocities in Europe. Today, over 22.5 million children of God are refugees, fleeing terror, persecution, violence, and war. We are called, at this moment, to stand for them.”

Joining Duvall will be Lacy Broemel, Immigration and Refugee Policy Advisor in the Office of Government Relations, and Episcopal Migration Ministries’ Kendall Martin, Communications Manager, for a conversation about the Church’s history and heritage of welcome, and how we are called to continue that legacy today.

Our 1939 Moment: Continuing the Legacy of Welcome will offer information, inspiration, and specific ways individuals and congregations can claim this legacy and this work as their own,’ Martin said.

Broemel explained that Our 1939 Moment: Continuing the Legacy of Welcome will also be released as a podcast episode on Episcopal Migration Ministries’ podcast, “Hometown,” which is available on Apple Podcasts, GooglePlay, Stitcher, and SoundCloud. Each episode is also released on Episcopal Migration Ministries’ blog, www.episcopalmigrationministries.org/blog, and featured on social media – @emmrefugees.

Registration is required and is available here.

STAND TO SUPPORT REFUGEES

DONATE

ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS

ACT NOW